• Council elections are held every 4 years.
  • The first popularly elected Mayor took office in 2012.
  • The Deputy Mayor is elected by the members of the Council for a period of 12 months.

The local government election for Mosman Council, originally scheduled for September 2016, has now been gazetted by the Minister for Local Government to be held on Saturday 9 September 2017.

For more information about NSW local government elections as well as details on the registration process for prospective candidates visit votensw.info/nsw_local_council_elections_2017.

Non-residential roll for Mosman Council Elections 9 September 2017

As required by the Local Government Act 1993, Council will be preparing a non-residential roll for eligible Owners, Occupiers and Ratepaying Lessees wishing to vote at the elections. Following the preparation and certification of the Roll by the General Manager, the Electoral Commissioner must confirm that those who have submitted an application are able to be enrolled on the non-residential roll. Claims for inclusion on the non-residential roll must be made on the prescribed application forms available from the Customer Service staff at the Civic Centre or downloaded from the panel on the right.

Non-resident elector responsibility

Please note that the non-residential rolls lapse after each Local Government election. Enquiries regarding entitlement to be on the non-residential roll should be directed to the Customer Service Team at the Civic Centre. Further details are available from the Local Government Act 1993 Section 299.

Claimants have responsibility for assessing their own eligibility to make a claim for inclusion in the non-residential rolls for any council/ward. If unsure it is suggested that independent advice is sought prior to lodging a claim. Requirements for making a claim for inclusion in the non-residential rolls include that the claim be signed by the claimant in the presence of an eligible witness.