Youth Awards in Literature winners

Posted Wednesday 30 August 2017

Congratulations to the fifteen young writers who were awarded cash prizes for this year’s Mosman Youth Awards in Literature at the Presentation Evening held at Barry O’Keefe Library on Wednesday 30 August 2017.

This year marked the 25th year of the competition which annually attracts around 350 entries from both local and regional students.

The presentation evening was attended by 125 people including short-listed entrants and their families, teachers, sponsors, competition judges and Councillors. The judges commented on the very high standard of entries and the variety of topics written. They also congratulated all the short-listed writers on their writing saying that the high standard made it very hard to choose the winners.

This year’s awards were sponsored by Rotary Club of Mosman, Mosman Lions Club, Café Moby, Oracle Books Mosman and Mosman Community College. The total amount awarded for prizes was $2,185.

You can read the winning entries here.


Primary Prose

  • 1st Prize – Iona Gate, SCECGS Redlands
  • 2nd Prize – Maria Smith, SCECGS Redlands
  • Highly Commended – Emma Comerford, Roseville College

Junior Secondary Prose

  • 1st Prize – Isabella Baker, NBSC Mackellar Girls Campus
  • 2nd Prize – Alyssa Chen, Chatswood High School
  • Highly Commended – Ella Egan, Mosman High School

Senior Secondary Prose

  • 1st Prize – Nanki Soin, St Luke’s Grammar School
  • 2nd Prize – Claudia Hayman, St Luke’s Grammar School
  • Highly Commended – Grace Hu, Pymble Ladies College

Junior Secondary Poetry

  • 1st Prize – Jazz Williamson, St Luke’s Grammar School
  • 2nd Prize – Amy Jones, Oxford Fall’s Grammar School
  • Highly Commended – Jess McCann, Loreto Kirribilli

Senior Secondary Poetry

  • 1st Prize – Xanthe Muston, Wenona School
  • 2nd Prize – Byron Edwards, NBSC Cromer Campus
  • Highly Commended – Amy Layton, Stella Maris College
  • Commended – Grace Hu, Pymble Ladies College