Skip to main navigationSkip to main content
mosman councilToggle submenu
Skip to main Content

2017 Mosman Design Awards

23 December 2016

Architects, builders and homeowners are being encouraged to enter the prestigious Mosman Design Awards which have become a sought-after accolade for architects designing high quality buildings in Mosman.

Established in 2004, the awards, which are held every two years, have been won by well-known architects such as Richard Leplastrier and Luigi Rosselli, and judged by panels of highly regarded architects.

The 2017 Awards will again be judged by Nick Tobias, Gabrielle Morrish and Robert Staas.

“The Mosman Design Awards are quite unique for a local government awards program in that it attracts architects who have designed exceptionally well considered and executed design,” Robert Staas said.

The winner of the overall award in 2015 from 15 entries was 36 Plunkett Road designed by Clinton Murray and Polly Harbison. The judges’ citation for this project included: “The architecture sends a clear message that community, connection and sharing the natural assets of our city are all important”.

“The 2015 overall winner was an example of how development in Mosman can push the boundaries of safe architecture and produce high quality design that sits well in the landscape and I’m sure we will see further examples of innovative design in 2017,” Mosman Council Director of Environment and Planning Craig Covich said.

The awards have two categories: Contribution to the Built Environment and Heritage Conservation, with all nominated properties also entered into the People’s Choice Award.

This year, nominations will be required to consider how well the design and construction of the building responded to questions of sustainability.

Nominations are open until 4 February 2017 and any building project, small or large, that has been completed in the last two years is eligible to be nominated. Entry is free via the awards website