Skip to main navigationSkip to main content
mosman councilToggle submenu
Skip to main Content

Entries are now invited for the 2018 Mosman Art Prize

22 June 2018

Artist Registrations are now open for the 2018 Mosman Art Prize. The annual exhibition will take place 26 September – 18 November at Mosman Art Gallery, NSW.

The Mosman Art Prize is the longest running and most prestigious municipal art prize in Australia. Winning entries form the basis of the Mosman Art Collection, a valuable and historic collection that surveys Australian painting since 1947.

The Mosman Art Prize is an acquisitive award of $50,000 sponsored by Mosman Council. Previous winners form a roll call of Australian art luminaries: Grace Cossington Smith, Weaver Hawkins, Francis Lymburner, Nancy Borlase, Lloyd Rees, Guy Warren, John Caldwell, Frank Hinder, Elwyn Lynn, Margo Lewers, Peter Laverty, Earle Backen, Ken Reinhard, Jenny Sages, Noel McKenna, Dong Wang Fan, Elisabeth Cummings, Tim Johnson, Guan Wei, Adam Cullen, Tom Carment, Jasper Knight, Lucy Culliton, Craig Waddell and Michael Zavros. Margaret Olley was the inaugural winner in 1947. Sydney-based artist Jumaadi was awarded the Mosman Art Prize in 2017.

The 2018 Mosman Art Prize will be judged by artist and previous Prize winner Cressida Campbell. Past adjudicators include notable Australian art figures such as Margaret Preston, John Olsen, Tim Storrier, Jenny Sages, Edmund Capon, Margaret Olley and John McDonald.

Each year over 900 entries are received in one very long day at the Mosman Art Gallery. The artworks are then selected for a finalist exhibition that extends across the entire top two levels of the Gallery for over six weeks.

The Mosman Art Prize offers four further art awards in addition to the acquisitive major prize.

Other Awards

Thanks to the generous support of Gillian and the late Brian Jones, $5,000 is available through the Margaret Olley Commendation Award. The Allan Gamble Award, in honour of architect, artist, former Mosman Councillor and founder of the Mosman Art Prize, Allan Gamble, will be awarded to the best painting which explores the theme of ‘the built environment’. This award is valued at $3,000 and is supported by Christine and the late Hugh Fraser. Awarded to an artist under the age of 35 years, the Guy Warren Emerging Artists’ Award (valued at $2,000) is supported by Fourth Village Providore, and the Viewers’ Choice Award is supported by the Mosman Art Society and is valued at $1,000.

Important Dates

Monday 10 September- Receiving Day for artworks (from 8.00am)
Monday 17 September – Finalists (selected for exhibition) announced
Tuesday 25 September – Prize announcements and official opening (6.30pm – 8.30pm)
Wednesday 26 September – Exhibition opens to the public (daily, 10.00am – 5.00pm)

In Australia, art prizes come and go. They may offer large sums of money and have glamorous marketing campaigns, but they still have limited life spans. The chief exceptions to the rule are the Archibald Prize and the Mosman Art Prize.

John McDonald, Sydney Morning Herald art critic and Mosman Art Prize adjudicator, 1989 & 2004

The longevity of the Prize is evidence of the recognition both artists and the public have for the reputation of this award. When I consider the list of worthy artists who have won this Prize over the years, it reveals a roll call of the nation’s most talented and admired artists.

Susi Muddiman OAM, Director of Tweed River Regional Gallery & Margaret Olley Art Centre and Mosman Art Prize adjudicator, 2016


Where: Mosman Art Gallery, 1 Art Gallery Way, Mosman NSW 2088

On view: 26 September to 18 November 2018

Open: 7 days, 10am – 5pm (closed public holidays)

Admission: Free

Ph: 02 9978 4178