Skip to main navigationSkip to main content
mosman councilToggle submenu
Skip to main Content

Mosman Design Awards 2019

21 January 2019

Mosman Council has today launched the 2019 Mosman Design Awards.

Established in 2004 and held every two years, the Mosman Design Awards recognise outstanding contributions to the built environment and heritage in the Mosman area. They showcase some of Sydney’s and Australia’s most impressive building design projects, and have gained a reputation for honouring the highest standards of building design.

Any building project, small or large, that has been completed in the past two years in the Mosman area is eligible to be nominated.

The awards will be judged by a panel of three of Australia’s leading architects:

  • Gabrielle Morrish, managing director of urban design and architecture practice GMU. Morrish has held many senior positions, delivered a number of the leading design quality codes used in NSW, is an urban design expert for the Land and Environment Court, sits on a number of design review panels, has served as a judge for various design awards, and has been awarded the UDIA Women in Development Leadership award.
  • Brian Zulaikha, founding partner of Tonkin Zulaikha Greer. Zulaikha’s previous projects include the Singapore Superior Courts Complex, design management of the Bicentennial refurbishment of Sydney’s Circular Quay, Eveleigh Carriageworks and The Scots Church Redevelopment. At Tonkin Zulaikha Greer he coordinates 30 staff with $500M of work in development.
  • Nick Tobias, founder and principal of Tobias Partners. Tobias has 20 years design and architecture experience ranging from bespoke residential commissions to high-end commercial projects. His firm has completed projects across Australia as well as New Zealand, Asia and the US, and received a number of high profile industry awards. Tobias has served on various design award judging panels, deigns review panels and charity boards, and is a popular industry speaker.

Morrish and Tobias have served on previous Mosman Design Awards judging panels, while Zulaikha joins the panel for the first time, bringing with him a particular interest and expertise in environmentally sustainable design.

Members of the public will also be able to get involved by reviewing the nominations and voting for the People’s Choice Award.

The winner in 2017 was a contemporary home designed by Rolf Ockert. The judges commented it was an “ambitious and complex project” that had been handled with care and grace, resulting in an “exciting piece of architecture [that]… most importantly feels like a home for a family”. Other previous winners include projects by well-known architects Richard Leplastrier and Caroline Pidcock.

Mosman Council’s Director of Environment and Planning, Craig Covich said nominations excel every year. “The Mosman Design Awards show how projects can push the boundaries of safe architecture, while also producing high quality design that sits well in the landscape. I’m sure we will see further examples of this and even more innovative design amongst this year’s nominations”.

Nominations are open from 21 January to 15 March and entry is free. Architects, builders and home owners who have completed high quality designs in Mosman during the last two years are encouraged to nominate. People can vote for the People’s Choice on the website from 18 March.

For more information or to submit a nomination visit