Skip to main navigationSkip to main content
mosman councilToggle submenu
Skip to main Content

New Mosman Mayor welcomes declaration of poll

18 September 2017

New Mayor Carolyn Corrigan has welcomed today’s official announcement of Mosman Council’s election results and her confirmation as Mosman’s popularly elected Mayor for the next Council term.

Cr Corrigan, who ran on the Serving Mosman ticket, replaces Mosman’s retiring mayor, Peter Abelson. She was first elected to Mosman Council in 2012 on Peter Abelson’s Serving Mosman ticket and was Deputy Mayor from 2015 to 2016.

“I am delighted and humbled to have been elected Mayor of Mosman and am appreciative of the support of so many across the community,” Cr Corrigan said.

“I would also like to thank Peter Abelson for his outstanding contribution and service to Mosman and his invaluable leadership and mentorship will be sorely missed.”

“I look forward to working closely and collaboratively with my fellow Councillors and Mosman Council’s staff to establish priorities going forward.”

Cr Corrigan said she will focus on a number of key local issues: “I will be tackling local traffic issues, the continuation of shared services with neighbouring Councils, ensuring Mosman maintains its village atmosphere and supporting the area’s youth”. Cr Corrigan also stated she would work to ensure that councillors continue to determine development on public land despite proposed changes to the NSW Planning Legislation.

Councillors Roy Bendall, Simon Menzies, Libby Moline and Tom Sherlock have also been returned to Council and are joined by new Councillors David Cook and Jacqui Willoughby.