Skip to main navigationSkip to main content
mosman councilToggle submenu
Skip to main Content

North Shore By-Election 8 April

Posted Thursday 30 March 2017

It is a cliché to say that we live in interesting times. Certainly, I cannot ever recall such interest (or such a deployment of resources) in an election for our local State Government seat of North Shore as is occurring for our forthcoming by-election on 8 April.

The proposed unwanted abolition of existing local councils along with the perennials of excess traffic/inadequate transport infrastructure and over development are major causes of engagement.

Of course, some will prioritise other issues such as employment or health and education services.

There are eight registered candidates.

In order on the ballot sheet, they are:
1. Harry Fine – Independent
2. Carolyn Corrigan – Independent
3. Ian Mutton – Independent
4. Felicity Wilson – Liberal Party
5. Brian Beaumont Owles – Voluntary Euthanasia Party
6. Justin Alick – Greens
7. Lia Lessing – Animal Justice party
8. Silvana Nile – Christian Democratic (Fred Nile) Group

With so many candidates, preferences may be decisive.

For those unable to get to a polling booth on 8 April, there are two alternatives.

To register a postal vote, you can go here and obtain an on-line application form.

More simply, you can vote at a pre-polling booth: Shop 1, 770 Military Road, Mosman; 15 Blue Street, North Sydney; or L25, 201 Kent Street, Sydney.

Mosman and N. Sydney booths are open Monday to Saturday; the city booth from Monday to Friday.

Breaking news: The NSW Court of Appeal has just found that Ku-ring-gai did not receive Natural Justice in the amalgamation process, which will have to be re-started if the State Government wishes to continue with the forced Ku-ring-gai/Hornsby merger.