Skip to main navigationSkip to main content
mosman councilToggle submenu
Skip to main Content

Celebrating Mosman’s Citizens

Posted Thursday 31 January 2019

Mosman Mayor Cr Carolyn Corrigan, Australia Day Ambassador Dr Cindy Pan, Member for Warringah Tony Abbott, Member for North Shore Felicity Wilson and Mosman Councillors joined together for Mosman’s Australia Day Citizenship Ceremony, to celebrate 46 residents born in 18 different countries as new Australian citizens.

At the ceremony Mayor Corrigan also announced resident of 40 years Gordon Alexander as Mosman’s 2019 Citizen of the Year and local student Ella Spencer as Mosman’s 2019 Young Citizen of the Year.

Mr Alexander is founding member of the Harnett Quarry Group which was instrumental in gaining recognition of the heritage significance of the former sandstone quarry at Harnett Park, Mosman Bay.

Miss Spencer’s achievements include volunteering and academic awards, and participation in UN youth initiatives and the YMCA Youth Parliament NSW.

Mosman also led the 2019 Australia Day honours list with 11 residents, more than any other postcode, being recognised with an Order of Australia award for their contributions in a range of areas including medicine, disability care, business, community and philanthropy.

Andrew Pridham was appointed an Officer of the Order of Australia. Dr Andrew Brooks, Dr Milton Cohen, Peeyush Gupta, John McMurtrie and Nelune Rajapakse were named Member of the Order of Australia. Lorance Angus, Stephen Anthony, former Mayor Virginia Howard, Moya Martin and Lieutenant Colonel Antony Lanarch-Jones received a Medal of the Order of Australia.

Pictured: Mosman’s 2019 Australia Day Ambassador Dr Cindy Pan with Mosman’s Citizen of the Year Gordon Alexander, Mayor Carolyn Corrigan and Mosman’s Young Citizen of the Year Ella Spencer.